About Us > News > Snowsport Scotland Annual Awards 2016

Snowsport Scotland Annual Awards 2016

At the AGM this year Snowsport Scotland recognised four members of the snowsport community who have gone above and beyond in thier sport.

Volunteer of the Year- Lynn Greenshields

Lynn's dedication and excelled organisational skills, plus her cheery demenour has helped towards LSRA becoming one of the biggest and best dry ski clubs in Scotland. Lynn herself is one of the most dedicated members of the LSRA commitee and has given a huge amount of her time to LSRA.

Coach of the Year Award- Neil McGrain


Neil dedicates his time to ensure various athletes recieve the best training and encouragement suited to thier individual needs/ ability. All athletes involved within the development/comeptition team have a great respect for Neil. They along with their parents are extremely appreciative of all the hard work and commitment Neil has put in. Neil was instrumental in preparing the Bearsden Freestyle athletes who won both categories in the 2016 GB Park and Pipe Championships.

Life Achievement Award- Philip Rankin

Philip instigated the first real ski uplift in Scotland at Glencoe in 1956. Philip has been a apart of the snowsport community for over sixty years and is truly well deserved of this award.

Snowsport Person of the Year- Andy Meldrum

Andy has turned Glencoe Ski Centre around completely. When the hill was at the risk of closing down he not only got the hill going again he has been instrumental in upgrading the facilities. It has been quoted that, " You can always find Andy on the hill when you need him".

Show All Disciplines
Adaptive Snowsports
Alpine Ski Racing
Nordic Ski Racing
Other Disciplines
Park & Pipe
Ski Cross
Snowboard Cross
Telemark Ski Racing